Chemical Free

A vacuum.

Brains of empty space, eating and digesting the void,

A place where we really think and consume nothing; hoping that truth is palatable, comfortable, and adjustable.

This is the education we have imparted to ourselves and future generations,

a hope to rid ourselves of self.

We need to die unto ourselves, but in an increasingly relativistic, accept everything, secular culture,

we have cast aside even scientific reason for fear that we might offend.

In America, diet is big business.  Going natural is booming.

In Christian circles, we want to restore things to the way they used to be,

since before the Fall,

the way God intended it.

We are helpless, aren’t we?

We are always trying to do it our own way but slapping on the God-approved label.

God created it so it must be good. Right?

We ignore that he gave us free will and discernment.

Wisdom must be requested and sought, it is not automatically granted.

Yeah, I went to an essential oils party recently.  Oils do have benefits.  I’m not denying that.  There is something to be said about reducing additives in our diet and cosmetic products.  I’m not against the natural movement, but I am against the complete abandonment of logic, reason, and intelligence.

No Chemicals.

I cringe.

I understand the intent behind the words.  However, how often do our words inflict harm, pain, or conflict? Frequently.  We are to watch our words carefully.  Communication is understood through language, through word.  Aren’t we told that if we don’t have anything nice to say then we shouldn’t say anything at all?  Can we refrain from logical fallacies then too please?  Especially if we know they are a logical fallacy?

Are you smarter than a 5th grader?  We learn basic chemical principles in elementary school.  We learn that the backbone of everything is a chemical.  If we learned this as children then why do we ignore it as adults?

I don’t think it is our school system’s fault, at least not outright.  If we dumb people down though we don’t have to worry about them standing up for themselves or others though. If we don’t teach science, logic, or reasoning, we can be coerced into anything, no?

I want my daughters to be intelligent, to be able to explain why they believe things.  I try to do this with my faith.  Understanding the way the world works helps me to understand God, or at least a glimpse of him.

Wow, I’m jumping around a lot.  Can I blame children again?  Oh, sweet kids, sleep!  I need rest for my intelligence, to impart reasoning and logic to you!

Anyways, please, I can support a movement that strays from additives, but not a movement that assists in decreasing intellect.  I am a Chemist.  You are smart.  I challenge my kids every day.  I don’t speak so they understand me, I speak so that they figure things out, so they are challenged to be better because I expect others to do the same for me.  We aren’t to be complacent.  If we, especially Christians, say they want to be better, we must strive to be better and that starts by challenging ourselves to the goals we wish to see accomplished.  Push yourself further, deeper into Christ’s arms and wind up more in his image.  Be able to explain the reasons for your faith as we are told to do in the books to the Thessalonians or Timothy. (Sorry, I really want to remember…oh goodness, was it the book of James?  Seriously, I need more sleep…or to let my words be few, that is wisdom gleaned too.)  Reasoning stems from the ability to think logically and this is aided by the principles in science and math.  Science helps faith and vice versa, or at least I have discovered this to hold true.  (Relativism…hopefully my argument does not implode.)

In summary, please, just please, if you want to join the natural bandwagon then please do. I’ll support it too, but not if it requires me to abandon thought.

Everything is a chemical.  Yes, I understand you want to decrease synthesized materials in your daily life.  However, if you truly think everything natural is beneficial, then you would be denying that arsenic is poisonous?

Marijuana is natural too.  Do you support that?  If not, then where do you start and where do you stop with all things natural?  Just because it is natural does not make it good. Something made in a lab isn’t inherently bad.  We are working towards reducing world hunger and through medical advances, we have been able to enrich lives.  Let us at least all agree on one thing: EVERYTHING has atoms and that folks, is chemistry.

Chemicals abound.  Thank God.  Share this knowledge with others, especially your children.  We leave the world to them.  Let us leave them with intelligence and the ability to make smart, informed choices.

Please don’t give me, or my family, a chemical free world.  I couldn’t survive in it and truthfully, you couldn’t either.

 

4 Replies to “Chemical Free”

  1. Kelly, I would love to chat with you more about this. I tend to be lured in by the natural movement and I think in some cases, the natural alternative is definitely better than the synthesized version, but you’re absolutely right. It’s not always true. And yup, not all natural things are good for us.

  2. I absolutely agree Jamie. I like to lean more natural, using fewer dyes (which studies have shown can impact behavior). However, the movement has been telling people that things are chemical free. Many people know that it doesn’t mean it is without chemicals, but that the products are less harmful to our bodies (at least with our current research which might prove otherwise 30 years down the road). Sadly, there are a several that think it means these items don’t have chemicals. Chemicals are apparently bad. Chemicals, the backbone that comprises literally everything, organic or inorganic.

    Frank and I were talking this morning. Aspirin has salicylic acid. Salicylic acid is a monohydroxybenzoic acid from the willow tree, from the bark where the medicinal properties are. Salicylic acid can also be used to preserve food. Yet, we think preservatives are bad. This preservative comes from a plant. There are some that simply use the root because it is all natural. The use of it depends on how it is treated as it reacts with other chemicals. My point here is that natural products are used in syntheses and just because something is used in a lab doesn’t make it any less natural. Sometimes, the movement has been misleading and not truly educating people with science.

    For instance, peppermint oil is 1,7-dimethyl-3-oxaspiro[3.5]nonane; 3,6-dimethyl-4,5,6,7-tetrahydro-1-benzofuran; 5-methyl-2-propan-2-ylcyclohexan-1-ol; 5-methyl-2-propan-2-ylcyclohexan-1-one; (5-methyl-2-propan-2-ylcyclohexyl) acetate; 5-methyl-2-propan-2-ylidenecyclohexan-1-one. (Ref: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/substance/114685103#section=Top ) If you told someone in the general public that, they would be aghast. Big words scare people sometimes. The movement, sadly, isn’t challenging people to become educated but is using a common name to make it more palatable for our minds to comprehend. Then, in turn, people say it doesn’t have chemicals. I know it is probably less important than I am making it. It is just a pet peeve, and a big one since I’m a chemist, to have several people say something is chemical free or has no chemicals. If it doesn’t have chemicals, it is a vacuum. Things can’t exist long in a vacuum.

    I would love to talk more about this with you. I enjoy discussing chemicals, chemistry, and instrumentation. I don’t get to do it enough these days. I miss you and Chad and hope to get together soon.

Leave a Reply

