Perpetuating Injustice: A Grieving Nation

A while back I wrote a post regarding white privilege.  I said that I should not be made to feel guilty because I am white.  Now, I still feel this way.  I have never intentionally disrespected by black friends.  There are many whites who have not disregarded the importance and significance of black people.  Unfortunately, this does not change that a few corrupt people are definitely targeting blacks.  Our black brothers and sisters are experiencing extreme injustice.  Racism is still apparent.  Yes, I knew this before and in my earlier post I did not intend to imply that racism was a thing of the past. It is alive and real.  This scares me.

Sadly, racism has always existed.  There have been whites who hate blacks, blacks who hate whites, Christians who hate Muslims, Muslims who hate Christians, Criminals and non-criminals who hate cops, Cops who hate criminals and non-criminals.  The list could go on and on.  We live in a fallen world and our hearts wrench as we witness senseless violence.

Why are dear black brothers and sisters being targeted?  I wish I knew.  Racism never made sense to me.  My mother’s best friend is black.  This woman is a second mother to me and thank God she is in my life.  She helps calm my mother and has helped quiet storms that break out between my mother and me.  I have other black friends who have greatly enriched my life.  A dear black friend was the pastor that married me and Frank.

I can’t imagine them having to suffer injustice simply because they are colored.  I am so sorry my friends if you have ever experienced this injustice, or will in the future.  It isn’t right.  I will never know what it is like to be disliked based on the color of my skin.  I have been disliked or talked down to because I’m a woman and a short woman at that. (Is a pun appropriate to make this heavy-hearted post a little more light-spirited? I need that right now.)

I am the granddaughter of a Japanese woman and American man.  They were married during World War 2.  The Japanese were hated by Americans and vice versa.  I found it intriguing that my grandmother told me to never marry a black individual.  Here was a woman who had to endure racial slurs and hate when she came to America, but she herself looked down on blacks.  If you experienced hate, why perpetuate it?

Yes, all lives matter.  However, we must admit that there has been direct injustice towards our black friends during this time.  I don’t witness as much racism in the Northeast as has occurred in the Midwest and South.  Perhaps living in suburbia I am removed from it.  Even living in a predominantly white neighborhood, I do work in a very diverse company.

My company only has 10 people, but we have two blacks and one Indian employed.  We joke about stereotypes for all races, but we have great camaraderie.  I wish everyone would do this.  Racism is belittling and narrow-minded.  The response of a couple of snipers is atrocious too!  Violence does not solve violence.  The cops killed were not the ones who targeted those precious black men.

Racism is not a response to racism.

Hate needs to end with us, NOW.  These killings have to end.

I’m so grieved.  None of this makes sense to me.  I listen to NPR in the car most days rather than music.  Willow rides with me.  Yes, she is young.  People say she doesn’t understand.  Toddlers grasp far more than we give them credit for. If you act like your toddler can’t hear you, you are less likely to alter how you speak about others in front of them in the future.  Your speech must always be edifying, even more so when children are around.  They are sponges and want to learn and do what we are doing.  We need to get in the habit of changing our narrow-minded and “gossipy” ways now so our children don’t grow up and perpetuate these problems.  (I’m grateful that Willow is teaching me to become more guarded with my tongue [read:how we speak about others and having an attitude of gratitude rather than complaint].  She doesn’t even know that she is teaching me this.)

If we teach our children at a young age to love then maybe we can witness hope and compassion spreading rather than fear, hatred, and violence.  The change must start with us.  We must educate younger generations about the need to see all people as equal.  No one is superior.  No one is inferior.  It is time to stop injustice towards minorities.

We are all made in God’s image.  It is time we started acting this way, even when we disagree on theological, political, and religious grounds.

#Blacklivesmatter

#Bluelivesmatter

We must pray!

One Reply to “Perpetuating Injustice: A Grieving Nation”

Leave a Reply

