Carriers: Part 1

I’ll take a break from controversy.  At least I’ll try anyways.

[I was praying and felt that I’ve been quarrelsome lately.  I’d like to blame it on sleep deprivation or new-working-mom guilt.  However, my soul feels restless and I want to blame God so rather than ‘blaspheme’, I write opinions.  Although I don’t think I’m intentionally looking for an argument.  Some people might think that.  If they do, am I?  Is this just my approval addiction seeking to envelop me again?  Also, am I being a prattling fool and as such, inviting quarrels?  Why do I espouse my ideas or ideals, defend them, and then apologize for doing so?  Ah, this vicious cycle.  Anyways, I’ve digressed in my thoughts.  My intent was to take a break from heated topics for a moment.]

I’m writing a product review in this post.  Now, some might find it boring.  I just have a soft spot for baby carriers.  I don’t wear them all the time with Willow.  I usually just hold her in my arms (probably as an excuse to not clean house or assist with building projects around the house).  When I do use a carrier, I am critiquing each one, comparing the one I’m wearing to others I’ve used or would like to purchase.  When I travel, which I haven’t gone to my uncharted lands in roughly 7 months, I use carriers.  I like to walk without extra accoutrements.  If I use a stroller I now have to find space to store the stroller if we stop.  If I have a carrier, I can simply sit down as Willow is strapped to my body.  So here it is, a blog about the carriers I’ve used and the ones I intend to purchase because I feel they will help me more when I start venturing beyond NJ again, this time with my Willow girl in tow.

K’Tan:  ( https://www.google.com/search?q=k%27tan&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAkQ_AUoA2oVChMImbCOst7uxgIVCdk-Ch0Rvw9m&biw=1385&bih=870#imgrc=URULrpsVoZRhOM%3A ) My cousin’s wife purchased this carrier for me via Amazon.  We had it on our registry because it seemed like a much simpler version of the all-famous Moby wrap.  Plus, it was recommended to me by an equally enthusiastic carrier purchaser.  As soon as it arrived in the mail, I joyfully sported the wrap above my protruding, pregnant body.  Frank and I practiced the different wrap techniques to hold a baby before Willow was born by using a teddy bear as a substitute baby.  It worked well.  Then we had Willow and it was a bit more difficult.  We juggle her fidgeting body while trying to loop the wrap into the proper position.  More often than not, we twist part of the shoulder strap which is uncomfortable for adult and child.  Willow also feels low on me.  The carrier is one size too big for me, I think.  As a result, I usually let Frank use this one.  (Feel free to add your reviews on the carriers sweetheart.)

Agility:  ( https://www.google.com/search?q=agility+carrier&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAkQ_AUoA2oVChMIl9Xj3t7uxgIViBY-Ch3GkwaN&biw=1385&bih=870#imgrc=0Fp8WmqfpPJjbM%3A ) This is one we own and I use most often.  It has a structured back so you put it on like you would a t-shirt.  The structured back is one of my favorite features on the Agility.  The fact that I can put it on like a t-shirt makes it easy to take on and off and get Willow in and out of.  I have a black one though and in the summer heat, my little furnace burns me up and I find myself wearing the carrier as I hold Willow in my arms.  Also, Willow starts up high, at the proper height position but her increasing weight causes the fabric to sag, causing her to sink lower from my lips (you are supposed to be able to kiss the top of a child’s head in a baby carrier).  As she moves lower over time, my back aches.  So this is one of my favorite carriers, but not to wear for extended periods of time; for instance, while hiking.

Ring Sling: ( https://www.google.com/search?q=ring+sling&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAmoVChMI6u_p897uxgIVB9k-Ch3tYgN2&biw=1385&bih=870#imgrc=wwJhG4IWPNod1M%3A ) My least desired carrier.  The ring sling goes over one shoulder.  The uneven spread throws me off balance.  Also, you are supposed to create a bucket seat by tucking the fabric under the butt while bringing it to about the bottom of the belly button.  A child doesn’t feel very secure.  I know a child is.  I’ve worn one with Willow in it and she was secure.  I just felt more comfortable holding her with one hand on her back.  I like carriers that allow me to use both of my hands.  One thing I do like about this carrier design is that once you practice enough, it is really easy to nurse and walk!  I enjoy the multitasking this allows me to do (multitasking = shop/walk/vacuum while nursing).

Becco Gemini:  ( https://www.google.com/search?q=ring+sling&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAmoVChMI6u_p897uxgIVB9k-Ch3tYgN2&biw=1385&bih=870#imgrc=wwJhG4IWPNod1M%3A ) The image associated with this link is actually the fabric type we have.  Frank was hoping he could wear Willow while he was in uniform and not get told he couldn’t be carrying her at a particular time.  This is a buckle carrier.  I do like this one as it leaves me feeling cool even in summer heat.  There isn’t any fabric on my back to make me sweaty.  I do have a small torso though and the carrier just doesn’t sit right on my hips.  The shoulder straps get pushed up and I sometimes have them brush my ear.  Shoulder straps should rest on the shoulders, not pass by my ear.  I do like the fact that it buckles.  The Gemini buckles are a bit complicated though because I have to push a button to undo the clasp.  If I have to place my hand on Willow’s back while putting her in and taking her out of the carrier, the task of pushing a button while pinching the clasp to undo the buckle is ridiculously hard.  This feature should be simpler.  I’ll have to research buckle carriers that might work with my body type.

Moby Wrap: ( http://https://www.google.com/search?q=Moby+wrap&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAkQ_AUoA2oVChMI58fx-93uxgIVxDg-Ch1VywH_&biw=1385&bih=870#imgrc=54X8H2wtmW7v2M%3A ) Everyone and their mother has heard about the Moby wrap.  My best friend had one.  I tried it.  There is so much fabric to tie, twist, stretch, etc. that it makes putting a child in one difficult.  Also, there is so much detail to tightening ‘rails’ so a kid doesn’t fall out that my ‘mommy brain’ can’t comprehend how to maneuver this wrap well enough to make Willow safe and secure.  It is also really hot in the summer due to all the fabric used.  I need to look for woven wraps that function the same way but have colored rails so you can tell if you are fixing the top, back, or bottom.

Mei tai:  ( https://www.google.com/search?q=mei+tai&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAmoVChMI4Y_oguDuxgIVgRU-Ch3NiwOy&biw=1385&bih=870#imgrc=SFCYcxyeM5v-JM%3A ) My best friend has this one.  I’ve watched her put it on.  It has a structured piece that covers a child’s back.  This piece simplifies the tying process.  I’d like to try this one out.  There is still long fabric straps and there is a tying procedure, but since it is simpler than the Moby, I’d like to try it.

These are only a few of the hundred plus carriers available.  I’m still researching, and to my husband’s vexation and frustration, wanting to purchase a new one each pay period.  (I don’t like too many material items in life and couldn’t find space to store as I live in 700 sq. ft., but my shopping vices are storage items (bins, sheds, ottomans, fabric cubes, etc.) and baby carriers.)  Until next time, I hope you enjoyed a couple of key points and personal commentary on the carriers mentioned here.

2 Replies to “Carriers: Part 1”

  1. Such a different style blog post for you! I liked it and found it interesting, although for someone like me who isn’t familiar with any baby carriers (even the Moby), I think pictures would have helped. I can always look them up though!

Leave a Reply

