Love In The Warning

“I will take vengeance in anger and wrath
    on the nations that have not obeyed me”-Micah 5:15

I’ve never fully understood God’s chastisement.  Too often I try to understand him by boxing him into this pretty, loving, and forgiving God.  He is.  However, he is also just.  He reigns in a manner that man can not truly comprehend.

When I read passages like this though I begin to, even if only for a moment, grasp the compassion of God even when he appears harsh.  Notice the word will.  This is a future tense.  God warns the people to turn to him, or return in cases like Judah and Israel, lest he become jealous and strike the people.

I think of my marriage.  I love my husband dearly.  I am also extremely jealous of our relationship.  There has been a woman lately whose motives I’ve questioned.  She has shown interest in my husband, or maybe I’m just misinterpreting the signs and being extremely paranoid.  Whatever the case, I want to guard this love with everything in me.  I know that he wouldn’t do anything with her, but I still want to make sure he isn’t put into a compromising situation like Potiphar’s wife and Joseph.

I guess God’s love is the same way.  He warns us before he sets off on a jealous rampage because he wants to guard us.  God cares for us in ways we can’t even begin to imagine.  His jealousy doesn’t come without a warning.  Christ’s relationship with the church reveals the extent of the vow, God’s faithfulness.  If we are true to him, he will be true to us.  A relationship is a two way street.

If I want to understand what God’s justice looks like on earth than I must ask him.  Ask and you will find the answer.

This quest to focus on justice this year is going to be difficult, but I’ll get to understand God in ways I haven’t before, as I have in reading the verse quoted at the beginning of this post.  His reign will be desired and admired if I keep pursuing the lover of my soul, Jesus Christ, who is consistently pursuing me.

Leave a Reply

