Wondrous Love

What wondrous love is this that caused the Lord of bliss to bear the dreadful curse for my soul.

While singing this hymn in morning devotions I thought of a short poem:

What love is this that you would take the weight of Creation’s fall?

You willingly fell upon that cross

and with pierced feet you allowed us running passage to your throne.

Sins waters deep we were treading and so you bled

that we could rise above and be set free

from that dreadful stain and instead be clean.

It might possibly need some refining, it was just a quick thought this morning and it was really the first line of Christ taking the fall of Creation.  I know we are sinful because of the Fall, but we are free, free indeed because he carried that weight in our place.  To think of that gift this morning was wonderful.  We are a blessed people and my faith will be made stronger in his presence, something I haven’t gone to meet in a while if I confess.  It feels good to pull open my prayer book and let it guide me since I’ve been wandering and it points me back to him and his promises in the Word.  God will lead and I need only trust him with all uncertain paths that lie ahead.  Wondrous love can help us get through anything.

Leave a Reply

