I Dig You

Yesterday was my last day for 2.5 weeks with Hubby (hence I didn’t post yesterday).  He left this morning at 4 am and has made a long flight trek with his unit to California.  We were supposed to spend today together, but the military called this past Friday and moved his leave date from August 8th to August 6th.  I just pray continuously for his safety.  I don’t like when he’s away.  His absence does leave ample time for me to draw near to God on my own, however.  I could look at Frank’s time away as an opportunity to forge a deeper relationship with God so that when Frank returns, Lord willing, I will be more devoted to God and less distracted when Frank is around.  Anyways, the reason today was so special to me is that Frank turns 29 today.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEST FRIEND!!!  

I hope it is a birthday as great as he is.  I also hope the guys in his unit do something special rather than letting this day pass as if it is any other.  I also hope Frank will use his age acquired wisdom to share the gospel with the guys in his unit.  I wish I had more time (don’t we all) to do some last minute stuff for Frank’s birthday before he left, but it was such an abrupt leave from the command.  It is my hope that a post expressing my gratitude for this man will help him celebrate his birthday with joy and help stimulate a desire for him to seek God fervently on this trip to California.  

Frank has been my biggest supporter.  I couldn’t have endured a miscarriage alone.  I’m so blessed to have a man that drew me into his arms and prayed healing over me when I felt scarred from that experience.  He constantly encourages me to pursue my dreams.  This blog is actually due to his encouragement to pursue my writing again.  I hope to take some writing classes soon and hone my poetry so it flows better.  Perhaps then we can use that as a source of income and we can travel.  (Yeah, dreaming big here.)  Thank you Frank for helping me get back into the realm of words and praying over the outcome of my writing endeavors.  

Frank also brings me much laughter.  He is quiet in public, but silly with me.  He makes quirky faces and goofy dances.  When we have power outages he is so prepared it makes me giggle.  He’s also extremely witty and uses puns constantly.  Lately he’s been perusing the web to tell me science puns.  His love of pretzels and insistence on driving a diesel truck brings a smirk to my face;  at times I can find it annoying, but in truth it’s just part of his predictability that makes me feel secure and protected.  

When people think of Frank they think of a hard-working man who is outdoorsy and handy.  His recent birthday celebration at Diggerland USA helps to reinforce these impressions of Frank.  We enjoyed the day working with construction vehicles, climbing a ropes course, and riding some military equipment.  We went a few weeks before his birthday to celebrate since August is such a crazy busy month, but it was still enjoyable.  Enjoy the photos below and may his smile and enjoyment of such things like Diggerland bring you as much joy as they bring to me.  

 

2014-07-19 13.59.50 2014-07-19 14.06.36-2 2014-07-19 14.18.06 2014-07-19 15.14.54 2014-07-19 16.59.55

3 Replies to “I Dig You”

  1. What a nice post for your hubby! And in case Frank reads the comments section as loyally as he reads all your posts, Happy Birthday, Frank! I wish I would have realized it was your birthday last night when we saw you at the Night Out! Be safe in California.

  2. Thanks Jamie! I hope he likes it too. I miss him like crazy already. I didn’t really get to speak to him today. 😦 I guess that’s how sad God is when we don’t commune with him. Oh how funny it is that marriage parallels Christ’s union with the church so well. Thanks for your encouragement towards Frank. I know it means a lot to him. 🙂

  3. Thank you for the birthday post, it was very sweet. One of the guys noted that I have 27 hours for my birthday, we’re 3 hours behind. Also, I do read the comments as well, thanks for the birthday wish.

Leave a Reply

