My Child’s Faith

I’ve wanted to be a wife and a mother for as long as I can remember. Some girls want a 9-5 position, I wanted the exhausting 24/7 career. I like cleaning house and prepping dinner. When I’m in the lab, I sometimes can’t see the visible fruit of my efforts. The bathroom scum erodes with the proper cleaner though. I can see those results. I know that motherhood doesn’t have definitive lines of success either though. I’d probably measure my success through my child’s acceptance of Jesus and him or her coming into his or her own faith, so long as it was rooted in gospel truth. (I know that I shouldn’t measure success that way, but I probably would…)

What would be the definition of gospel truth? The Bible has the answers, not mine or Frank’s views, not Americans’ opinions, not our neighbors’ thoughts, or friends’ positions.

The Bible speaks of Jesus as the The Way, the Truth, and the Light. No one gets to the Father except through him. His covenant is better than the old, rendering the need for legalism obsolete. It is our acceptance of him that determines our fate on judgement day. We are apportioned one life and then face judgement after death.
(Heb. 8)

This is why I have an issue with sects like Netzari Judaism that tell me I must be a strict adherent to Torah in order to be accepted by God. Jesus fulfilled the Law. I can’t obtain perfection through the Mosaic covenant, but only in Christ. I’m dead in the Law. I’m alive in Christ. I haven’t quite figured out what following this new covenant looks like. Rules are tangible, faith is a bit more ethereal.

However, I’m also not inclined to believe the other side of the spectrum that gives license to adopt into Christianity whatever I want it to. God is a jealous God. He alone is God. There is not an option to adopt the pantheon of other gods. Christ calls this idolatry. Also, to bastardize Christianity as the West has done through adaptations of eastern pantheism is to insult Christ’s sacrifice upon the cross. If we have cycles of birth and rebirth in order to obtain perfection, our Messiah’s sacrifice would be null and void. His work would not be sufficient. The Bible continuously tells us that we are reconciled to God through Christ alone, not through works as would be necessary for reincarnation. Christian pantheism, that seems so prevalent in America today, is the liberal license that juxtaposes the legalistic adherence to Torah.

We must be careful not to add or subtract the significance of the cross. Christ is enough. I’d want my child to know that. My prayer for our children is that they’d know they can’t earn God’s love. They have to pursue Jesus. I’m not quite sure what that looks like. I do know that you get to know God by speaking with him. He speaks to us through his inspired word. If we clear our minds to observe our thoughts as the Christian pantheists say we must do, we leave our minds open to be filled with the devil’s deceits. Instead, I would encourage my children to fill their thoughts with Scripture and understanding it through study. However, I’d caution them that too much study and not enough rest in God would lead them down the road to works. There is beauty in traditions and rituals, but not if it causes us to think that we must do these things to earn God’s mercy.

Christianity is a delicate balance. It is not what we’ve made it to be here in the States. Christianity is Christ. Christ is known through his sacrifice on the cross. When we look at the cross, we see mercy, grace, and love poured out for humanity. God loved us enough to dwell with us. He paid our debts through the shedding of his own blood. I don’t fully understand all of this. I couldn’t possibly explain these great mysteries justly to my children. The only way to catch a shimmer of understanding in this is to read God’s revelation to us through Scripture. That is my prayer for our children. My prayer is that they’d grasp the beauty of the cross; they wouldn’t degrade the meaning of that sacrifice.

I prayed that over our unborn child. I know that God will use this miscarriage as a testimony to draw others to himself. However, this experience must always point towards God’s work, God’s presence, God’s mercy, not my works or success in crossing this hurdle. Jesus’ blood reconciles people to God, not the shedding of my uterine lining. May this story always be about bringing God glory, not sympathy to my plights and a focus on me. May my children’s faith, be them born to roam this earth or heaven sent too soon (at least in my opinion), lead others to the cross (through love and compassion rather than fire and brimstone though) and acceptance of that wondrous sacrifice rather than leading people to my children’s views.

I hope this made sense. It does slightly in my mind. Thoughts? Constructive criticisms? (Keep criticisms constructive, not derogatory!)

2 Replies to “My Child’s Faith”

  1. I know you will be a great mom when God grants us a child. “My prayer is that they’d grasp the beauty of the cross; they wouldn’t degrade the meaning of that sacrifice”, that is my prayer as well.

    1. Thank you Frank. I know you will make every attempt to instill an appreciation for the cross in our children. You are a wonderful companion and I look forward to the day where I can call you the father of our children. God has given me an amazing husband. I can’t wait for you to return home. Thank you for your kind words here and your continuous support. I am really grateful that you are encouraging this endeavor.

Leave a Reply

